Metal and Glass Photo Shoot

For my photojournalism class, I was instructed to come up with a concept to shoot either a metal object or a glass object. I was immediately drawn to the glass photography examples we looked at in class for their beauty and simplicity. I think maybe I just like glass objects more than I like metal ones, as well. Glass = serene and transmissive. Metal = hard and garish.

The glass technique also interested me more. I had never thought about lighting glass much at all, so I certainly hadn’t thought in terms of brightness or darkness of field in order to achieve white or black highlights on the edge of the glass. When I came up with my concept (“Coke Equals Diabetic Coma”), I initially thought I should do a dark field in order to more easily showcase the piles of sugar. But aesthetically, I thought the image would be more visually appealing on an all-white background. My partner, Madison, and I shot it bright-field first, and as it ended up working well, we didn’t try it with dark field. If I’d had more time, I would have liked to try it both ways, but I think the white field succeeds here.

I’m not much of a soda drinker, so that’s how I, who have a totally absurd diet worthy of a nine-year-old (lately consisting of crackers, Golden Grahams and tangerine popsicles) can presume to be so high-and-mighty about sugar consumption. Here’s my doom-and-gloom caption: “A 12-ounce can of soda contains approximately eight ounces of sugar. The USDA reports that Americans, on average, consume between 150-170 pounds of sugar every year, or roughly four 12-ounce servings of soda per day.”

Things I should have brought to the photo shoot but didn’t: a dustpan, and we’ll leave it at that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

